276°
Posted 20 hours ago

Date with Evil: A delightfully witty and charming mystery set in the Yorkshire Dales perfect for fans of Agatha Raisin and The Thursday Murder Club (The Dales Detective Series Book 8)

£9.9£99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

Qu'est-ce que je l'ai attendu ce dénouement, que les problèmes qui gangrènent Bruncliffe arrivent enfin à leur terme ! This is the eighth book in the Dales Detective series and follows almost directly on after the events of the previous book.

Je rêvais d’un happy-end, style « conte de fées » avec un chouette prologue type 6 mois après les faits. There's so much work to be done on all the investigative, dating and web site activities that they enlist the help of Ida and a young trainee. The vague threat that novel ends on, presumably signposting the way for book number 9 in the series, is that the sprightly but elderly members of the local retirement complex might lose their home.Mais comment imaginer un seul instant que ce roman est annoncé comme le dernier de la série des détectives du Yorkshire ? It’s hard to know which crackles with energy more, the various explosions and fires or their chemistry. Having published a series of novels set in the idyllic French Pyrenees, she has now turned her hand to crime. I loved Delilah and Samson together, they turn out to be a really good combo – good for each other and their business.

Not only is one of my most anticipated books in my grasp, but it didn't disappoint, love this series even more for having this book in it! The stakes are high, the danger greater than ever as the villain of the piece sees their plans fast unravelling, but will the Dales Detective Agency succeed in discovering the perpetrator, and will Bruncliffe be left unscathed, or will the village be scarred forever by the fallout of this last(? I was so nervous and excited to pick up this book, the village of Bruncliffe with it's overly familiar residents, inter-related families, cake, tea. From stolen washing to inheritance investigations, Bruncliffe’s Dales Detective Agency is being inundated with cases. Born with a wanderlust that keeps her moving, Julia has followed her restless feet to Japan, Australia, the USA and France.This is the first book I've read waiting for its release - because I discovered The Dales Detective when the previous books were already published - and I read them, one after the other, last year.

Alors, bien sûr, j'ai vraiment beaucoup aimé la fin, ce dénouement en fanfare où chacun à son rôle à jouer. The author has brought to life the North Yorkshire landscape and populated it with wonderful characters. Little do the detective duo know that several of their cases are about to collide, as what appears to be a simple matter of identifying the whereabouts of the missing man becomes something far more sinister. The endearing inhabitants of Bruncliffe are back, banding together with good old Yorkshire grit, this time to foil an organised crime gang who, improbably, are running a drugs/people trafficking ring out of a bunch of old farm sheds.All the previously laid threads meet here and many are neatly tied up, although there's one more book (at least), so obviously not all of them. But with Samson O'Brien still in London helping the Met Police clear his name, and the newly appointed member of the investigations team, Ida Capstick, distracted by her brother George's insistence that their farm is haunted, Delilah Metcalfe is struggling to meet the mounting demands for the agency's services. Developments in Samson and Delilah's relationship, as well as several others, are front and centre, but all while tying together a few seemingly unrelated jobs that have come into the Dales Detective Agency.

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment